Buyer Logistics

How do you wire a sauna heater under the NEC?

On its own 240V circuit, sized from the heater's manual, with a permit. Ask your inspector about GFCI first, because the code and the heater makers disagree.

By The America Saunas Editors

Published Oct 10, 20268 min read

An electrician's breaker panel sits wired on a workbench before it goes into a wall.
Photo: Troy Bridges on Unsplash

A sauna heater runs on its own 240V circuit, hardwired, with the breaker and wire size set by the heater's installation manual, and it needs an electrical permit. A 6 kW heater usually lands on a 30-amp breaker and an 8 kW on 40 amps, per the manuals we read. Before anyone buys the breaker, ask your inspector about GFCI protection. The 2023 National Electrical Code extends it to backyard buildings, and heater makers tell you not to use it. We read three heater manuals sold in the US, the code amendment that changed the GFCI rule and the residential code's sauna section. NFPA 70 itself sits behind a paywall, so where we couldn't read the code, we say so.

The heater's manual sets the breaker and the wire

Every sauna heater manual we read gives the current draw and the wire size, and most give the breaker. The heater gets a circuit of its own, hardwired, and the KIP and FLB manual says outright that it can't use a plug. All three call for copper wire rated for 194°F (90°C), because the wire runs through a hot wall.

Breaker and wire sizes from three heater manuals
HeaterDraw at 240VBreakerCopper wire
Harvia KIP / Finlandia FLB, 4.5 kW18.8 ANot stated#10
Harvia KIP / Finlandia FLB, 6 kW25 ANot stated#10
Almost Heaven (Harvia Wall), 6 kW25 A30 A10/2
Almost Heaven (Harvia Wall), 8 kW33.3 A40 A8/2
Scandia Ultra Medium, 7.5 kW31.3 A40 A#8
Scandia Ultra Medium, 9 kW37.5 A50 A#8

From the Scandia Ultra Medium manual, Almost Heaven's Wall heater manual and the Harvia KIP-B1 / Finlandia FLB manual, read Oct 10, 2026. Use the manual for your exact heater; these figures don't carry over between brands.

Electricians argue over the 125% rule

Fixed electric space heaters fall under NEC Article 424, which sizes the circuit at 125% of the heater's load. Some electricians treat a sauna heater that way and some treat it as an appliance, and the code text that would settle it is behind NFPA's paywall.

The difference shows up at 8 kW. That heater draws 33.3 amps, and 125% of that is about 41.7, by our math, more than the 40-amp breaker Almost Heaven's manual lists. A heater on a timer that shuts off within an hour may not count as a continuous load, which the code defines as three hours or more. Your inspector makes that call, so ask before the panel work starts.

GFCI is where the code and the makers disagree

The 2023 NEC's section 210.8(F), as amended by NFPA's TIA 23-3, requires GFCI protection for outdoor outlets at dwellings, accessory buildings included, on single-phase circuits of 150 volts or less to ground and 50 amps or less. A 240V heater circuit runs at 120 volts to ground. By our reading, a backyard sauna's heater circuit falls inside that rule, though no source we found names saunas. An exception for listed HVAC equipment expired on Sep 1, 2026.

The heater makers say the opposite. The Harvia KIP and Finlandia FLB manual says a ground fault interrupter "does not belong in a Sauna" and will trip, and Almost Heaven's tells installers not to use one. The 2026 NEC adds a line saying a maker's instructions still have to produce an installation that meets the code, and Minnesota's electrical board cites GFCI as the example.

States amend this rule, too. Georgia kept the HVAC exception with no end date, and Maine's 2026 adoption raises the accessory-building limit to 60 amps. Settle GFCI with your inspector, in writing, before the electrician orders parts.

The residential code caps the room at 194°F

The International Residential Code's sauna section, M1902, says sauna heaters have to comply with UL 875, the standard for electric dry-bath heaters, whose 10th edition is dated July 8, 2024. The same section caps the thermostat at 194°F (90°C), with its sensor within 6 inches of the ceiling, and calls for a guard around the heater of a low-conductivity material such as wood, per Seattle's adoption of the code.

Buy a heater that's listed to UL 875 and the 194°F limit comes built in. Scandia's manual also says its controls must never go inside the hot room.

Some states let you pull the permit yourself

Minnesota, Washington and Michigan let homeowners take out an electrical permit for work on the home they live in, and the work still gets inspected. Minnesota's form has you swear you'll do the work yourself on a home you own and occupy. Washington's labor department strongly encourages hiring an electrical contractor anyway.

The heater makers ask for a licensed electrician regardless. Scandia's manual, Almost Heaven's and the KIP and FLB manual all say so, and a warranty claim goes more smoothly when an electrician signed the work.

How we put this together

This guide draws on NFPA's TIA 23-3 to the 2023 NEC, Minnesota's 2026 NEC FAQ, the IRC sauna and permit sections as Seattle adopted them, the UL 875 listing page, three heater manuals and three states' homeowner permit pages, all read Oct 10, 2026. We couldn't read NFPA 70 itself, so the sections on Article 424 and the 125% rule rest on what electricians and the manuals report. It's general information, and your inspector's reading decides.

Common questions

What size breaker does a 6 kW sauna heater need?
A 6 kW sauna heater draws 25 amps at 240V and usually goes on a 30-amp double-pole breaker with 10-gauge copper wire, per Almost Heaven's heater manual. Use the breaker your own heater's manual names.
Does a sauna heater need a GFCI?
It depends on your inspector. The 2023 NEC requires GFCI protection for outlets in accessory buildings on circuits up to 50 amps, which by our reading covers a backyard sauna, but Harvia's, Finlandia's and Almost Heaven's heater manuals say not to use one. Ask the inspector before the electrician buys the breaker.
Can a sauna heater plug into an outlet?
No for the heaters we read about. The Harvia KIP and Finlandia FLB manual says the heater must be permanently installed with no plug, and Almost Heaven and Scandia specify hardwired circuits. Some infrared cabins do plug into 120V outlets.

We review from makers’ documentation, owner reports and published research. How we choose products and write reviews.